This is hard

Mothering is a hard job.

Playing Together

We’ve had a tough week so far at our house in terms of child rearing. Delaney was very sick this weekend with some kind of something. She was throwing up and her fever went to 104.6. I’ve never seen it that high. We went to the Saturday clinic and they just said it was a sinus infection and gave us an antibiotic and phenergen (sp?) in a cream form for the nausea. She got to sleep with us Saturday night and woke up back to her old self Sunday morning.

This week no one has been sleeping well and everyone has been a little cranky. I don’t know if other mothers feel this way, but my kids usually go through week-long moods, and then seem to be back to normal. My mom came over this morning so I could have a little bit of a break and try to get some cleaning done. I’m so thankful for her willingness to help us.

The way we sleep the night before makes all the difference on the day, so the bad sleep is throwing us all off. I’ve been sleeping later to make up for the sleep lost the night before, which means I haven’t had time in the Word before the girls get up, which means I start off the day with a bad attitude.

Pretty Darcy

So during weeks like this, how can we find joy? My temptation is to get sad and have a little pity party about how stressful the days can be. Giving in to that temptation would not only be counter productive, but also sinful! The Lord has blessed me with two beautiful little girls. Yes, the days and nights can be long at times, but God doesn’t get tired and he gives strength and wisdom to those who ask for it! One of my favorite passages to quote during the times I feel down is Isaiah 40:28-31…

Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

I memorized that passage right after Delaney was born and it got me through those long nights and it still gets me through long nights. Our job as mothers is a difficult one, but it is a holy calling blessed by the Lord. So what do we know to be true that can help counteract the negative feelings?

1. Children are blessings and gifts from the Lord.

2. The Lord is faithful and gives strength.

3. The Lord will give me wisdom to raise them.

4. There is forgiveness for the ways that I will mess up.

5. Good sleep will return one day:)

I have a feeling that I’m not the only mom that ever feels this way, so I hope this can encourage you the way that it encourages me. Please excuse me while I take advantage of the rare occurrences of both girls napping at the same time and crash on the couch.

Leave a Reply

