Things to Teach My Girls: Skincare

My mom: Make sure you put lotion on your elbows.

12 year old Me: Why?

My mom: Have you seen (insert name)’s elbows? Do you want yours to look like that?

12 year old Me: I hadn’t noticed.

My mom: Always put lotion on your elbows.

This is a conversation that I have had with my mom no less than 100 times in the past 20 years. Moral of the story: no one wants ashy elbows.

Among other things, my mom taught my good skin care and for some reason, it stuck. I can probably count on one hand the number of times I have gone to bed without washing my face. I wash my face and use moisturizer twice a day, and have been using eye cream since I was 13. Skin is one thing that will thank you if you treat it well! I’ve yet to get any crow’s feet!

Since this is about skincare, I thought I would share some of my favorite products…

Face cleanser: I’ve used it all. Seriously, I think I’ve tried everything they make at least once. I like to change it up, but one of my favorites is Clean and Clear Morning Burst. It’s inexpensive and I LOVE the way it tingles. Other favorites are the Clinique line, Mary Kay Time Wise and Bare Minerals but those are all a little pricey.

Moisturizer: Anything Clinique makes is amazing in my opinion. I’ve never tried a moisturizer of their’s I didn’t like. But again, it’s pricey so I’m currently using the Target brand knock off of Neutrogena and really like it.

Eye Cream: Clinique All About Eyes Rich (currently using) or Mary Kay eye cream. Both are great.

Body Wash: All things Dove.

Make-up: Bare Minerals foundation and mascara. I use a few products from Mary Kay.

Lotion: Vaseline Intensive Care or Johnson’s Bedtime Lotion (I use it on the girls and just love the smell).

So there you have it! I want to teach my girls to take care of their skin.

 

Leave a Reply

