June Challenge

So I’ve been carrying around about  8-10 lbs. since Darcy was born. Babies like squishy mommies, so I was doing it for her. It’s all about sacrifice, being a mom.

She’s nearly 6 months old now so I’m thinking it’s time to shed the extra pounds. Anyone else feeling a little pudgy these days??

It’s not that I’m not active. I spend the majority of the days on my feet, and we go to the gym about 4 days each week, but there is no method to the madness. And I tend to eat away my stress while watching The Bachelorette (or basketball…depending on who gets to the remote first) in bed after the girls are asleep.

It’s sad, I know.

Have I mentioned my cupcake addiction?

Needless to say, I’m not taking care of myself the best that I can, so I need a goal! A plan! A spreadsheet!

Here’s the deal…today is June 1. Don’t you love the first day of the month, by the way? It’s so new. That gives us 30 days to make something happen. I’m going to be using the app on my iphone called My Fitness Pal to track my calories and workouts, and aim for a net of about 2000 calories a day. Your calories could vary by height, build, activity level, etc. (I also need a little extra because I’m still nursing). I’m aiming to hit the gym 5 days per week. On the days I can’t make it, I’ll do something at home.

My goal is to lose 8 lbs. by June 30. This may be a little lofty, but I love a goal!

I’ll update my progress every Wednesday here on the blog. If you are interested in joining in, please send me an email at erinleamoore@gmail.com or leave a comment on this post (you leave a comment at the top of the post) or a comment on Facebook. We can help each other along.

So here is my first update:

Weight: +10 what it should be

Workout: 10 minutes on stairclimber (my mortal enemy), 20 minutes on stationary bike, 30 minutes on elliptical

Calories: So far so good!

Okay it’s your turn! Who’s with me?

 

 

Comments

  1. I have 10 pounds to go too. Today is the first day I really feel up to exercising, but I know I should probably wait a couple more weeks to start anything serious besides walking. I’d like to join the challenge but I’m worried it will affect my milk production. Any thoughts?

    • Girl…it’s been two weeks! Just try not to lose your mind right now and worry with the weight later!

    • As long as you factor in some extra calories, your milk should be good! If I were you, I wouldn’t worry with counting calories right now. Let your body regulate a little more and just do some light exercising.

  2. Traci Stubblefield says:

    I’ll join your little crusade my friend! I would like to lose 15 lbs and tone my flabby self up. Have no children to blame just a lifetime of addiction to sweets and mexican food!

    I don’t have a fancy iPhone app to track my calories but I’m sure I can find a site or something somewhere to do so. I did Group Power today over lunch (hour-long torture to music for every major muscle group in the body)!

    So today has been a good one so far! The worst times for me are when i get home and after dinner. I want to eat cake and cookies or anything sweet and deliciously unhealthy.

    P.S. I’m not sure where you are hiding these extra 8 to 10 lbs. Don’t think you can loose weight in your big toes!

  3. Cathy Mathis says:

    Erin, I’m joining all of my bank friends on this challenge. Unfortunately, I have much more than you and Ashley to lose and my youngest child will be 14 in July Ha! I also love my sweets and my diet cokes. No more!!!!

    After winning the battle of breast cancer last year, I am stronger than any extra weight I am carrying on this body. Plus, when I heal enough to have my reconstruction, I want to be looking hot all over with a whole new body. Ha! Ha! My husband will like that too. I don’t think my kids remember the days that mom was slim. They will see me soon with all the help from you guys.

    Tonight I am heading to the park near my home to walk the dogs. Putting down my diet dr pepper and only consuming water and unsweetened tea.

    Have a great evening!

Leave a Reply

