Enough

It’s been one of those days when it just seems like nothing is enough.

  • Not enough time to clean my house.
  • Not enough money to pay all of the bills.
  • Not a good enough wife/mom to do it all.
  • Not enough patience with my sweet kids.
  • Not enough free time to finish a really good book.
  • Not enough motivation to lose those 8 lbs.
I’m sure we all have days like this, days when we are reminded that no matter how hard we try, we will  never be enough for the troubles of this world. Thankfully, we serve a perfectly complete God who is Enough of everything.

Isaiah 40:28-31

English Standard Version (ESV)

28Have you not known? Have you not heard?The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint or grow weary;
his understanding is unsearchable.
29He gives power to the faint,
and to him who has no might he increases strength.
30Even youths shall faint and be weary,
and young men shall fall exhausted;
31but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint.

Comments

  1. Traci Stubblefield says:

    Girl I have been living this for the past 2 weeks and the Lord just shared the most precious thing with me.

    Psalm 62:7
    On God rests my deliverance and honor; my mighty rock, my refuge is in God.

    He showed me that in this world I am NEVER going to be enough. I can’t be a good enough employee, wife, daughter, friend…good enough for myself. But all my honor, all the things I hold dear should be found in Him.

    And you know I should praise Him that there is a burning and aching in me for not being enough for this world. Because it just points me to Him. It ushers me to the cross with a refreshed spirit in the fact that “I won’t be enough” forever!

    One day I will be complete and in the arms of Christ and boy I’m so freakin excited about that it keeps me going!

    A hope that doesn’t fade…it’s so living!

    Until then I’m just going to take refuge in Him, because He truly is the only escape.

    P.S. And for the record I think you are AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

