Hot, Hot, Hot

Last week was interesting. I woke up in the middle of the night on Monday hot. I checked the thermostat and it was a couple of degrees warmer than normal. I turned it down and went back to bed. A few hours later, I woke up again, along with both girls, sweating.

Matt seemed to be unphased by the heatwave because he slept peacefully.

I looked at the thermostat again, a few more degrees warmer than last time. Oh no. Not now. Not August in Memphis when the heat index has been around 120 everyday.

I stripped the girls down to the bare essentials, turned on their ceiling fans, and put them back to bed…then I woke up Matt. Like a good husband, he acted like he knew a little about air conditioners and declared, “It’s broken, we’ll call in the morning.” At this point, I was thanking Jesus that we rent, and praying that I could get at least a little sleep.

The next morning, I packed up the girls and we headed to my parent’s house for an indefinite period of time. I left Matt at home to sweat it out and meet the AC guy. Men are better at sweating right?

We got the verdict early afternoon, compressor is out and won’t be fixed until tomorrow. Sounds expensive right? Again, I thanked Jesus that we rent…at least for a few more weeks.

We spent the night at my parents house Tuesday night and by dinner on Wednesday, our house was starting to cool off.

I carpool with my sister to work on Wednesdays (my one day in the office). On our way back into the city, Matt called me with the news…He was on the way home and the AC in our van wasn’t working.

It took every ounce of self-control and grace not to sound off a string of expletives. I really wanted to.

Again, Matt acted like he knew something about ACs and said something like, “I think something might need to be tightened or reattached because it happened so suddenly.”

Ashley and I met Matt at a repair shop and dropped off the van. It was nearly 6pm which was when they closed. We had plans to go to the-middle-of-nowhere, MS the next day to furniture shop at a discount store with my mom. We decided to still go, hoping that it was a minor repair on the van.

The next day (Thursday), as we pulled into the furniture warehouse, we got the call.

Compressor is broken.

Seriously? Two compressors in two days?

I knew how much it cost to replace the one at the house, so I thought, “Surely a car compressor is less than a house compressor.”

A compressor for a Honda Odyseey is nearly three times the price of a compressor for a 1400 square foot house.

Instead of a stream of expletives, it was a stream of tears that started. I cried for a few minutes in the parking lot, remembered our 0% credit card that we have for these instances, calmed down, and went in the store. We have had financial stress in the past, and the Lord has always been faithful.

As we walked through the warehouse, Matt was able to find another place that could fix it for significantly less. Praise the Lord. We dropped it off at the new place Thursday night and will hopefully get it back today.

Stay tuned for out interesting weekend that dramatically influenced our situation…

 

Leave a Reply

