Moving Sale Results

So I told you about our very hot week last week. For the record, I did have a small pity party for a few minutes. “Why me? Why now?” I repeated to myself until I realized what I huge jerk I was being. I remembered my friends whose 5 year old is battling cancer for the 2nd time, and our cousins who just buried their 8 week old baby, and my air conditioner suddenly didn’t seem like such a big deal. So the girl who writes a financial blog for a bank will be in debt for a little bit (a la Confessions of a Shopaholic). I can picture Dave Ramsey rolling his eyes. Not the end of the world.

Which brings me to the weekend. Delaney got to go to the lake with my parents on Friday since we were having the sale on Saturday. Darcy and I spent the majority of Friday sorting through the rest of our belongings, deciding what was imperative and what was trivial. I was operating from this mindset, “Don’t have anything in your home that you don’t believe to be beautiful or useful.” We had A LOT of stuff we were getting rid of. I now value the space and simplicity of having the minimum, over all the stuff.

We were up at 5am on Saturday morning setting things up. The big ticket items were our bedroom suit (dresser, chest, bed, nightstand), commercial grade mower, small kitchen appliances (skillet, Keurig-we got a new one, I would not give this thing up, rice cooker, etc.). If I hadn’t used something in our house in the past 6 months (including clothes in my closet), it was for sale.

My sister brought lots of stuff over as well and helped with the sale. We had our first customer at 6:15am and our last around 1pm. Out grand total for the sale was about $2200, which includes $1200 for the mower. It was an awesome sale. Everything that was left over we took to Goodwill. It felt so good to have the extra money and so much less stuff. I highly recommend it.

Needless to say, we made more than enough to pay for our AC. Amen. God is faithful.

Last night, Matt was playing the drums for a local youth conference (he is a man of many talents), and a parent came up to him at the end and handed him a check. She said that she felt like the Lord just told her to give us some money.

What?? Seriously?

I don’t know the woman, and Matt had only met her a few times before. She definitely didn’t know our financial situation. She will be getting a thank you note. I’m not sure how to adequately describe the way it made me feel. It was like the Lord said, “Don’t worry. I’m here.” I’m so thankful for her faithfulness and God’s goodness.

This is not the first time something like this has happened. Remember back in December? We had a few extra bills around Christmas time, plus Darcy was about to be born. We got a random check in the mail for $1000. The goodness of God never ceases to amaze me.

 

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] was cleaning out everything a few weeks ago in preparation for our big moving sale  and came across […]

Leave a Reply

