Mom Time

I love staying home with my kids.

I really do.

There is nothing that I would rather be doing at this stage in our lives. They bring me so much joy, and crack me up on a daily basis.

But every week, I look forward to Monday morning “mom time.”

Every Monday morning, I sneak out of the house at about 6:30am. I hit the gym for a bit, and then park it at Panera for a few hours. I eat the weekly cinnamon crunch bagel with honey walnut cream cheese, and drink a cup of Hazelnut coffee.

Alone.

Gloriously alone. For just a little while.

During my time, I plan our weekly meals, write posts for this blog and my work blog, and do whatever else I want to do. When I’m finished at Panera, I drop by the bank and the grocery store, and head home refreshed and ready to tackle the week.

I am so thankful for Matt’s willingness to keep the girls every Monday morning for me. When I get home, they have been fed, dressed (sometimes wearing some questionable fashions, but that’s fine) and are happy to see me. It’s a time that is good for our family as a whole…the girls get some daddy time without me around, and I get to regroup.

Other mom’s out there, do y’all do anything similar to this? Do you have other ways that you recharge yourself each week?

Comments

  1. Ashley Ramsey says:

    This is amazing and I’m sending it Brian Ramsey right now!

    Brian offers to give me “me time” often, but Ava is still feeding every 2 1/2 hours and we aren’t supplementing with formula, and I FAIL at pumping in advance, so it doesn’t work out. This week I’m joining a local book club and a missional community with some ladies at our church, so I won’t have alone time but I will at least have adult time. I’m pretty sure this is going to improve our lives significantly.

    I’m inspired to starting pumping regularly and getting some “mom time!.” Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Holly Boutot says:

    This inspired me too! Especially with another kiddo on the way. Hopson offers to give me alone time but I rarely ever take it. My mom didn’t really do menu planning and I am a very moody eater so menu planning has been hard for me to do. Maybe with some extra time to plan I can get it down though! Thanks for this post!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Some of my regularly scheduled “mommy time“ […]

Leave a Reply

