Parenting and Goals

I was thinking about goals over the weekend. Each year, I like to make a list of goals for the following year. They aren’t really resolutions, just things I want to work toward. As I was making them, I found myself listing out a lot of goals for the kids. The more I listed, the more I started to sound a little cray-cray. I just went on and on making more and more “goals” that were starting to sound a lot like rules. Then I remembered this article. I read this article a while ago, and shared it then as well. It’s just so encouraging. The main thing that I take away from it is that I am neither the worst/best parent in the world and more effort should be put into my kids knowing that I love the Lord than setting up lots of rules for them. I want them to know that I love them, and that I love the Lord. If I do a good job of that, I think we’ll be okay:)

 

P.S. I did keep some goals regarding the kids on my list…1) family worship (AKA “circle time”), 2) scripture memory, 3) one on one time with daddy weekly and 4) consistent discipline. Do you make goals?

Leave a Reply

