A Day at Home

Tuesday (Darcy’s birthday), I woke up feeling pretty yucky. The weather has been a little crazy around here (huge temperature changes) and that always messes with my sinuses. I had a lot of things to do around the house, so we decided to stay home from the gym and keep our PJs on for most of the day. I really love that I have that option:)

Here is the list I made on Monday of things I wanted to get done this week:

  1. Go through the girls clothes and box up everything that they’ve outgrown.
  2. Sort and organize toys. Send some to Mimi’s house and give some away.
  3. Wrap all of the Christmas presents.
  4. Iron the 1,000,000 shirts that I’ve let pile up (confession: I really enjoy most household chores, but ironing makes me want to curse.).

So I started at the top. I fully planned on recruiting the girls to help, and they did a great job. I put Delaney in her room sorting toys and barricaded Darcy and I in her room going through her clothes. Here’s what we came up with…

These are all 9 and 12 month clothes that she can’t wear anymore. The kid has about 5 things hanging in her closet right now:) We also found these cute shoes that she has now grown into…

Very Back to the Future.

After we finished Darcy’s room, we tackled Delaney’s clothes and sorted out all of the 3T clothes from last year. Here’s everything all ready to go to Mimi’s attic!

(Confession #2: I started keeping baby stuff in my parent’s when we lived in out other houses that didn’t have much storage space. I now have a big walk in attic with plenty of space, but I still send my stuff to my parents. So bad!)

It feels so good to purge.

After the clothes were finished, we dumped out ALL of the toys and sorted through them. Honestly, I nearly lost it when I saw thousands of little toys all over Delaney’s floor. She’s a hoarder and she gets it from Matt. We have lots of bins and built ins in Delaney’s room (courtesy of my wonderful grandfather), so we sorted into categories:

  • dolls
  • dollhouse furniture and people
  • puzzles
  • electronic games
  • dress up
  • misc. toys
  • baby toys

I couldn’t take a picture. The whole process was just too ugly. But we did it. And it’s so pretty now:)

Break for lunch. We went to Chick-Fil-A since it was Darcy’s birthday and I made her work all day. We still didn’t get out of our PJs:)

After lunch, I was feeling pretty accomplished and considered vegging out on the couch for the rest of the day, high on life and cold medicine, but I was on a roll and decided to keep going.

  1. Go through the girls clothes and box up everything that they’ve outgrown.
  2. Sort and organize toys. Send some to Mimi’s house and give some away.
  3. Wrap all of the Christmas presents.
  4. Iron the 1,000,000 shirts that I’ve let pile up.

I put the girls in their rooms for rest time (Darcy takes great naps, Delaney hasn’t taken a nap since summer 2011 so she watches a movie in her bed) and headed upstairs for The Great Wrap.

I finished shopping a while ago, but the big pile of gifts have been sitting upstairs glaring at me. Almost taunting me. I finally got the nerve to deal with them yesterday. I wrapped as much as I could in gift bags (easy) and then boxed up the rest of the stuff. About halfway through, Delaney’s movie was over and she wanted to help. Going with the theme of the day, I put her to work!

This kid loves to help. With anything really. If you label a request “helping” she’s all about it. She was my taper/labeler yesterday and did a fantastic job. I think a couple of labels might have gotten switched, but they should be okay.

As I wrote out labels, I reminisced of a time that Matt and I actually called each other “Matt” and “Erin.”

With Delaney’s help, I finished all the wrapping! As soon as Matt got home that afternoon, Delaney proclaimed, “Daddy, I wrapped your shirt for you for Christmas!” Haha…

  1. Go through the girls clothes and box up everything that they’ve outgrown.
  2. Sort and organize toys. Send some to Mimi’s house and give some away. 
  3. Wrap all of the Christmas presents.
  4. Iron the 1,000,000 shirts that I’ve let pile up.

I couldn’t let the list stay like this, so after Darcy woke up, I got out the ironing board and the 1,000,000 shirts. I counted them. Thirteen shirts. Yuck. I really need to do better.

I managed to finish in about an hour (which my mom thinks is impossible, but she is a really good ironer and does a good job…I just get it done) with two kids playing under the ironing board for most of the time.

  1. Go through the girls clothes and box up everything that they’ve outgrown.
  2. Sort and organize toys. Send some to Mimi’s house and give some away. 
  3. Wrap all of the Christmas presents.
  4. Iron the 1,000,000 shirts that I’ve let pile up.
Done.
Overall, it was a really fun day at home! The girls loved all the jobs I gave them and we got to spend a lot of time together. I should take sick days more often:)
Leave a Reply

