Goals for 2012

I love to make goals every year. Last year, my goal for the year was to just make it through joyfully (since Darcy was just born). I am happy to say that I did that in 2011. This year, I have a few more specific goals…

  • Read the Bible through using this plan. I did this is 2010 and it was wonderful! I took a year off when Darcy was born, but am right back into it this year. I like this plan because you read in four different places each day, and there are only 25 readings per month so you have days off or days to catch up.
  • Memorize 1 scripture per week. I use the Fighter Verse app for my iPhone and it is fantastic. You can also use their website if you don’t have an iphone. I love memorizing scripture. Delaney and I work on our verses together in the mornings at breakfast and it’s a really fun time together. I use this book for guidance with her verses and go at her pace. Some verses she picks up quickly, but longer ones take a while. It took her the month of December to learn John 3:16.
  • Encourage Matt and help him plan daily family worship. We call our family worship time “circle time” at our house. When Delaney started going to PDO, they would have circle time where they had to sit still and listen to their teacher. We just decided to institute it at home too with the same name. Circle time is short and sweet. We sing one or two songs, read from the JSB or Big Truths (catechism based) or actual Bible, and pray together.
  • Read at least one book a month. I already do this because I’m in a book club, but I would like to read a little more stuff that’s not on our book club schedule.
  • Pay off all of our credit card debt. We went to NYC last year and bought a house…and acquired a little credit card debt. Yuck. We have a plan and hopefully it will be gone soon.
  • Become a certified personal trainer! Matt and I have been talking a lot about this lately. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while and I think I’m going to start studying right after my birthday this month. I’ve talked to the manager at our gym, and I can train there part time according to my schedule as soon as I’m certified. Plus, the girls can go with me!
  • Go to bed by 11pm, get up by 6am. I’m just happier that way:)

There you have it! I like to get them out in the open so they don’t stay hidden in my notebook all year. Speaking of notebook, I got this beauty for the new year…

Isn’t it pretty?!

Comments

  1. YES! Yay for goals! (I just wrote a blog about that yesterday;)) I’ve always been intimidated by the “read the Bible in a year” idea, but your plan sounds doable! Maybe I will try it next year. I also am memorizing using the fighter verses. 🙂 My church gave out bookmarks! How exciting to see someone else doing the same! I looked up the fighter verse app and it was like $3 for droid. 😦 Did you have to pay for it?? May God enable you to meet the rest of your goals and grow your family this year! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Yes, I did pay for it on the iphone. I think it was around $3 as well. I hate to pay for an app, but I think this one’s worth it! Thanks for reading:)

Leave a Reply

