2012 Goals: Month 1

Well, we are 1 month into 2012. How are your goals coming along? I thought it might be a good idea to check in with mine every month to see how things are going. Here’s an update:

  • Read the Bible through using this plan. I did this is 2010 and it was wonderful! I took a year off when Darcy was born, but am right back into it this year. I like this plan because you read in four different places each day, and there are only 25 readings per month so you have days off or days to catch up. I’m on track and really liking it! I love the extra days that are built in.
  • Memorize 1 scripture per week. I use the Fighter Verse app for my iPhone and it is fantastic. You can also use their website if you don’t have an iphone. I love memorizing scripture. Delaney and I work on our verses together in the mornings at breakfast and it’s a really fun time together. I use this book for guidance with her verses and go at her pace. Some verses she picks up quickly, but longer ones take a while. It took her the month of December to learn John 3:16. Doing well, but I need to carve out a little more time for retaining the verses from the past. 
  • Encourage Matt and help him plan daily family worship. We call our family worship time “circle time” at our house. When Delaney started going to PDO, they would have circle time where they had to sit still and listen to their teacher. We just decided to institute it at home too with the same name. Circle time is short and sweet. We sing one or two songs, read from the JSB or Big Truths (catechism based) or actual Bible, and pray together. Since our trip to ATL, we’ve been out of our routine a little bit. Regularly scheduled circle time hasn’t been so regular, so we need to get back on track. 
  • Read at least one book a month. I already do this because I’m in a book club, but I would like to read a little more stuff that’s not on our book club schedule. In January, I read Ree Drummond’s High Heels and Tractor Wheels for book club. I’m still working on Tim Keller’s marriage book. The personal training stuff has cut into my reading time.
  • Pay off all of our credit card debt. We went to NYC last year and bought a house…and acquired a little credit card debt. Yuck. We have a plan and hopefully it will be gone soon. We got some good counsel on finances, and have made a plan. We are both committed to paying off our credit cards and car note by the end of 2013.
  • Become a certified personal trainer! Matt and I have been talking a lot about this lately. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while and I think I’m going to start studying right after my birthday this month. I’ve talked to the manager at our gym, and I can train there part time according to my schedule as soon as I’m certified. Plus, the girls can go with me! I’m on my way! I started studying last week and hope to be finished in April (I have until the end of July to pass the test). 
  • Go to bed by 11pm, get up by 6am. I’m just happier that way:) This is the hardest one. I can get to bed by 11pm, but getting up by 6am is the hard part. We have been so sickly lately, all we want to do is stay in the bed. This will be a focus area this month!
Overall, I am happy with my progress so far! I definitely have room for improvement, but things are going well. What about you?
Comments

  1. Niki Gilmer says:

    Hey Erin!! Just wanted to comment and say good luck on your Personal Training License!! That is very exciting and I think you would be great at that!! Study hard 🙂

Leave a Reply

