Life Skills

One of the many things that appealed to me about homeschooling is the time that we would have to learn important life skills. I try to involve the girls (as frustrating as it may be) in most of my household responsibilities, so that they will learn to do them as well. I don’t do this because I don’t want to do the chores myself, but because I want to raise them to know how to take care of themselves and to be responsible for their own things. Plus, they love it!

D1 helps me cook dinner most nights. She loves to be in the kitchen. D2 also loves to be in the kitchen, but she still lacks a little in the fine motor department to be able to handle most cooking instructions. Monday, the girls helped me bake some cookies.

20120808-145324.jpg

20120808-145159.jpg
Yes, my kitchen was a disaster afterward,but they learn about baking (which totally counts as math!) and we got to spend time together doing something productive.
D1 loves to do laundry. Sorting laundry is a great way to learn and review colors! She can sort clothes, take them and put them in the washing machine and press start all by herself. All I have to do is put in the detergent!

20120808-145648.jpg

20120808-145701.jpg

20120808-145711.jpg
It is really frustrating at times to teach them things that I could do way more efficiently without them, but sometimes the hard things are the things that are best:)

Leave a Reply

