The Help. Lord help me.

I am in a bookclub. It is by far one of the best things I’ve ever been a part of. It is a remarkably diverse group of women (ethnically, culturally, maritally, religiously, etc.) that I just love. We read one book a month and gather together at a house to discuss over a meal. This month’s book was The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

If you have not read this book, please stop right now and go read it. Seriously, it is one of my favorite books that I have ever read. Stockett has a true talent with storytelling, and a real creative voice. I do not have enough positive things to say about it. I think everyone should read this book, but especially if you are southern.

We went to see the movie together on Sunday afternoon and oh my goodness. I think I was crying within the first five minutes and did not stop for the entire movie. It was incredibly true to the story (with the exception of a few bits) and just a fantastic movie. It was so nice to put a face to the characters that I had come to love through the book.  I don’t want to give anything away, so just go see it.

P.S. After Easy A, Crazy, Stupid Love and The Help, Emma Stone is my new favorite actress. She is fantastic!

Leave a comment